#902: Playing with their food

Sometimes the kids find beauty in the little things indoors, as well. Like in food, for instance.

We have a folder on my computer called “Interesting food pix”, and it’s all about the foods or dishes that the kids find beautiful. A potato shaped like a heart. A jar of Nutella opened with an imprint of a something flower-like on top. Yogourt and cereal stuck together and leaning in such a way that it looks like some sort of post-modern architectural wonder. That type of thing. Any time the kids (usually the Girl) find something “beautiful” or “cool” in their food, they demand that a digital memory be made of it.

One of the funniest things that they find beautiful is their cookie shape. Before kids, I didn’t know this, but like clouds, cookies can reveal beautiful images that seem slightly different to everyone. To the Boy, since he was about two and accidentally discovered it, cookies can be bitten into only two shapes. He has strived to make it so ever since, with every cookie: a bat, or underwear. Just picture it—with a few U-shaped bites, you too can have an underwear- or bat-shaped cookie.

Papa's face, facing left. I don't know—I think in real life, his chin is just a tad stronger.

But today, they discovered an entirely new, interesting shape in their gingerbread cookie. The Boy had started with a stegosaurus-shpaed cookie (from a cookie cutter), and was not working toward the usual underwear (his favourite), when he discovered something new, and exclaimed happily, “Look! It’s Papa’s face!” The Girl looked over and exclaimed, “Oh yeah, you’re right!” I was driving but was intrigued, so had to ask the Girl to take a picture of it for me to see later, before it disappeared. The conversation that followed was rather entertaining:

The Girl: I think it needs to be rounded.
The Boy: No! I like it like that!
The Girl: But I could help you. I could round it here. I’ll just nibble a little bit. It’ll look more like him.
The Boy: I think it looks just like him now.

Seeing something intriguing and beautiful in the simple things is an ability that most of us adults lose, but thankfully get to see again through the eyes of creative kids.

