#905: The Good Luck Charm

This one’s more of a “curious” moment in parenting. Ever had a stranger come up and express in some way how cute/sweet/nice they think your children are? We’ve had moments where strangers comment to us or to the children themselves how sweet or lovely they they find the children. On several occasions, we’ve had Asian tourists snap photos of the kids (sometimes without asking, sometimes with), while exclaiming, “Kawa-iiiii!” But tonight was the first time that someone seemed to think that one of my kids could simply be a sweet, good luck charm.

While the kids and I were in a convenience store withdrawing cash to pay for our sushi take-out next door, a man standing next to us at the counter glanced over several times. A few seconds later, as we were leaving, he motioned to the Girl and said, “Come, pick.” He was holding out a lottery form, smiling to both her and me as if to say that it was okay, he wasn’t intending anything improper, and indicating to the Girl to point to numbers for him. I don’t know if it was because of his slight accent (Hispanic, I think) that she didn’t understand straight off, or because she was shy, or maybe even if she was awaiting my permission (after all, he was a stranger trying to communicate with her), but she hesitated noticeably. Once I explained to her that the man probably just thought she could bring good luck, and gave her my okay, she dutifully pointed out six numbers to him, as requested. Then I wished him good luck, and we were off on our way.

The overprotective mother in me should be slightly leery that someone should take so much interest in my child. But I like to think that maybe sometimes people just see something sweet, charming, and possibly luck-inducing about my kid(s). I mean, why not—we ourselves used to rub their big, round bellies when they were babies and call them our “lucky Buddha”, so possibly other people sense the same quality in them too. (Maybe they sense it more in the Girl, who is more serene and doesn’t give off much of a “hell-raiser” attitude like her four-year-old brother.) In any case, I like to think that my kids make people feel happy and maybe fortunate. And I like to think that maybe my child can help someone win $11 million dollars, simply by being herself.

