Sugaring off: Day 23

Monday night, at the library’s Mother Daughter Book Club, I had to resist temptation in the form of commercially-packaged sweet snacks. President’s Choice Decadent Chocolate Chip Cookies (which I really do love, but don’t eat often.) Rice Krispies squares. Granola bars. The one thing that might have been considered slightly healthy among the choices were the “all fruit” chewy snacks. (Okay, I admit it, I ate some, but there’s not much sugar in them, and they’re “all fruit”, and there were only something like eight tiny pieces in the package, so that was all okay, right?)

So why only sweet foods? Where were all the scones and cheese and crackers? Of course, I didn’t complain because it’s a nice gesture that the book club organiser even has snacks for us. But I have to wonder what it says about our view of food, when we think of only sweets for ourselves and our children. Have we really gotten to the point where we automatically choose something sweet when we reach out for a quick, inexpensive food that will satisfy us momentarily? Has sugar now become our main form of sustenance?

