Sugaring off: Day 15-16

In my haste, I had made the decision to enter this bet during a month when two special occasions involving cake would occur. So here it is, the exact midpoint of our little bet, and I was denying myself a birthday sweet. And I do believe that the Beloved Husband has taken pity on me.

After a lovely surprise meal of sushi, he brought out a little tray containing three small squares of mousse cake. Then came a little speech about how in screenwriting, they talk about a story being like a clothesline, in that it needs to be propped up in the middle or else it will sag. We were at the middle of the experiment, he said, and a little propping up or support was reasonable. I’m sure there was a bit more to that analogy, and it must have sounded really good and signficant, but mostly what I heard was “Blah, blah, blah, have some cake, blah blah blah . . .” So, after 15 days of no sweets, and an assurance from the BH that this would not constitute a failing on my part of the bet, I took little bites, sampling three flavours of mousse cake (taro, green tea, and coffee).

Now, if you’ve never had a pastry from an Asian bakery, you really must, because the beauty is that Asians don’t make desserts too sweet. Western-style cakes and pastries done in Asian bakeries are rarely overloaded with icing and fondant; they have just the right amount of non-sweetness with even a tinge of saltiness in the buttercream icing or cake batter or mousse. So as my first sweet treat after 15 days of non-sweet, an Asian-style mousse cake was just the perfect transition piece.

And you know what? I didn’t devour it and dive in uncontrollably like I thought I would. I savoured it slowly, and really had to force myself to finish the equivalent of one whole piece. The flavours sat just right on my tongue, and did not overwhelm. It was just perfect. And I didn’t want anymore than that.

What that proved to me is that with a non-sweet transitional dessert, I really did have control over myself. But I’m also positive now that when the real end of the experiment comes in 15 days, and the world of utter sweetness is opened up to me again, I will no longer have that deep craving that I once did. I think that I’ve overcome the biggest hurdles, and am now confident that I won’t overdose and go into a sugar coma, come Day 30.

