#942: Forgive and Forget

One of the things I love most about the Girl is that she’s the gentlest, most forgiving person I know. Unlike her mother, who has been known to hold a grudge or two, the Girl would not know such a thing. Even if I urged her to, she wouldn’t.

The most endearing example of her ability to forgive and forget so quickly, recently took place at bedtime. Her brother, being the pesty little brother that he can be sometimes, apparently gave her a good punch at bedtime. Nothing serious, of course, but enough where we could hear her cry out from the other room. So of course, we had to mete out the worst punishment we could think of for that kind of offense: “If you feel the need to hurt someone, then you’ll have to go to your own room, and be by yourself.”

Now, the Boy isn’t scared to sleep by himself; he has been known to do so before (again, as punishment). But it’s mostly the idea that he can’t be with someone that bothers him. So, off he trotted to his bedroom, in which he hardly ever sleeps, crying and whimpering the whole time (though I’m sure, not having learned any kind of remorse).

At this point, I was expecting the Girl to say, “Good! You deserved it!”, or chuck some kind of soft toy at his departing figure. That’s what I would have said or done if someone had socked me for no reason at  bedtime. Instead, within about two minutes of the Boy settling down on his bed, this is what we saw and heard:

Pitter, patter, as the Girl walks next door to her brother’s bedroom, and then she gently came to ask me, “Mama, can I bring a pillow for [Brother]? He doesn’t have one, and I thought he might like it.”

Really?!? He just punched you, and you’re thinking of his comfort? Amazing, truly amazing. I sometimes wish I were as strong as she is. I mean, much as it isn’t the best thing, there is something satisfying about holding a grudge and wishing just the tiniest bit of ill-will on someone who has hurt you.

 

But I guess her way is one of forgiveness, and it shows how powerful love can be.

