#979: Getting the phrasing just right

It’s always very funny when the youngest member of the family is desperate to join in on any and all conversations, even ones that he doesn’t completely understand. I’ve noticed recently that the Boy seems to keep his ears alert when we use well-known phrases, expressions, idioms, proverbs, and sayings. You can almost picture the little wheels turning in his brain, as he takes it all in, processes it in any way that he can, and then attempts to contributes to the conversation. Contributing in his own way always means that there are plenty of examples of when he gets it wrong, or gives it his own funny twist.

Yesterday, for example, the Girl and I were talking about something trivial, when she turned to me and said, “Are you thinking what I’m thinking?”, and then proceeded to outline her idea to me. Well, “thinking what I’m thinking” has a different significance to a four-year-old boy. He seized upon the opportunity right away, to show that he had something important to say too.

“Mama, are you thinking what I’m thinking?”

“I don’t think so. What are you thinking?”

“Well, if you’re not thinking of farting in a bowl, then you’re not thinking what I’m thinking.”

Indeed, that was not at all on my mind. But I am fascinated by how literal and expressive a child’s mind can be, and I am tickled by how eager a child is to be engaged in a conversation and sound more wise than he really is.

