Love of London Fog

I can’t believe that I used to periodically pay $4+ for a London Fog at the Second Cup. Why I never made one at home before, considering that we’re such DIYers when it comes to food and drink, I don’t know.

So this morning, we finally got around to it, made a fantastic homemade London Fog, and now have four fans at home. The recipe is below. We tried both pure vanilla extract and vanilla bean paste, and I do prefer the former. (Maybe the paste has to sit and steep for a very long time.) I also preferred the 3.25% milk, and think I will be daring and try 18% cream next time.

If I save enough from my $4 outings, maybe I can eventually get a real milk frother . . .

London Fog recipe

> 2 bags Twinings brand Earl Grey tea
> 3/4 cup (180 mL) boiling water                              => Steep for 5 minutes

> 1/4 tsp. (5 mL) pure vanilla extract OR vanilla bean paste
> 1/2 tsp. (10 mL) sugar                                                 => Add to tea, varying amount to taste.

> approx. 1/4 cup (50 mL) 2% or 3.25% milk, heated in a pot and frothed
=> Add on top of tea and stir.

