The Fall

It had to happen sooner or later. Last Friday, I experienced a notebook computer owner’s worst nightmare: I dropped it. With so many peripherals hanging off it—graphics tablet, cooling pad, web cam, printer—it was only a matter of time before things came crashing down, literally. (You know you have too many accessories when your four USB ports, which once caused you to say to yourself, “Who in the world would need all those?”, are now all engaged.)

I can still picture it happening in slow motion, and it’s one of those things that you know is going to happen, but there’s nothing you can do to stop it. I had been printing something, and when finished, moved my notebook away from the printer. However, I had forgotten to unplug the cable from the printer. In my moment of panic, thinking that I was going to tangle myself up, or jerk the computer back, my brain made the decision to just let everything go. It’s one of those moments when you have too many balls in your hands, and instead of trying to save a few, you panic and throw them all up in the air.

So, the thing fell flat on its face, with the screen hitting the hardwood floor. The funny thing is, the screen is still perfect, with nary a scratch. All the peripherals survived unscathed as well. The real damage, however, is in one of the hinges. It’s cracked, broken, and little pieces have been falling off it in the past week. The notebook now does not close properly.

I’m guessing that it’ll only be a matter of time before this computer dies from the nasty concussion that it suffered. The wire running through the back is now no longer protected by a rigid hinged back. So I’m frantically backing up files every day, guessing that one day when I open up the screen, nothing will work.

But The Fall has taught me a valuable lesson: I’m not going to be lazy next time, and I will unplug all peripherals before moving about. And I will move with slow and deliberate steps.

(By the way, if anyone knows of any place in the GTA which heals broken notebook computers for a reasonable price, please send me a message and let me know.)

